We are happy to announce that four members will join the Motherboard beginning in October.

The first two members join us after winning their respective elections this summer:

Karen Tongson will serve as Second Vice President next year. Karen is an associate professor of English, Gender and Sexuality Studies, and American Studies and Ethnicity at the University of Southern California. She is the author of Relocations: Queer Suburban Imaginaries and Why Karen Carpenter Matters. Karen’s work, both in the academy and in the public humanities, ranges through various fields, including queer studies, popular culture, performance, and food and taste studies.

Lauren McLeod Cramer will serve as Member-at-Large. Lauren is an assistant professor in the Cinema Studies Institute at the University of Toronto. Her research focuses on black popular culture, black studies, visual culture, and architectural theory, and addresses the ways black visual culture challenges the epistemologies of anti-blackness. A founding member of the research collective and peer-reviewed journal Liquid Blackness, Lauren is currently working on her research project “A Hip-Hop Joint: The Architecture of Blackness.”

Two other members have been named to their positions by appointment:

Maria Bose will serve as Treasurer. Maria is Assistant Professor of English at Clemson University. Her work focuses on contemporary film and media, cultural politics, and cultural materialism. Maria’s current book project, “Cinema’s Hegemony: Imperial and Cinematic Futures at the Start of the Asian Century,” examines cinema’s primacy to an unfolding phase of Asia-led global political economy.

Ken Allan will serve as Secretary. Ken is Associate Professor of Art History at Seattle University. His research focuses on American art of the 1960s. He has published widely in journals and catalogs on artists such as Ed Ruscha and Wallace Berman. Ken currently serves as Associate Director of the Study of the U.S. Institute for Scholars on Contemporary American Literature.

Although they are still working hard on #ASAP11 and other initiatives, we want to express our deepest thanks and love to the four members who will complete their terms after the conference: Joseph Jeon, Sheri-Marie Harrison, Angela Naimou, and Gloria Fisk.