ASAP: The Association for the Study of the Arts of the Present invites nominations and self-nominations for its annual Book Prize, awarded to a scholarly book written by an ASAP member that has made the most significant contribution to the study of the arts of the present during the calendar year 2019.


Books are considered without regard to aesthetic position, political point of view, country of origin, publisher, or topic: any book that discusses the contemporary arts anywhere in the world may be considered for the prize. The author must be a member of the association at the time of submission. Those who do not have current memberships (whether lapsed or never having been a member) have until Saturday, August 1, 2020, to renew or join at this website.


The prize is given for a book published in the calendar year 2019 and postmarked prior to the submission deadline of Tuesday, September 1, 2020. The winner will be announced virtually via the association’s website and social media in the fall. The winner will receive an award of $500.


Submission guidelines

Send one copy of the nominated book to the following addresses of the prize committee (three copies total):


Professor Elise Archias



Professor Yogita Goyal



Professor Kenneth W. Warren



Competition rules

  • The award is for scholarly rather than creative production (creative writing, original artwork, etc.), though we understand that the boundaries between these can be malleable.


  • Jointly authored monographs will be considered, but textbooks, anthologies, and collections by multiple authors, including bound editions of special issues of journals, are not eligible.


  • Critical media scholarship may be submitted in its publisher’s distribution format.


  • Self-published work is not eligible for the award. All submissions must be reputably refereed publications.


  • Books must be in English.


  • Publisher, third party, and self-nominations are encouraged. There are no limits on the number of books that one publisher can submit.


  • Authors must be members of the association at the time of submission.


For more information about the prize, including a list of previous winners, visit