ASAP: The Association for the Study of the Arts of the Present invites nominations and self-nominations for its annual Book Prize, awarded to a scholarly book written by an ASAP member that has made the most significant contribution to the study of the arts of the present during the calendar year 2020. Books that appeared with a 2021 publication date must wait for the following year, even if published in 2020.


Books are considered without regard to aesthetic position, political point of view, country of origin, publisher, or topic: any book that discusses the contemporary arts anywhere in the world may be considered for the prize.


The members of the Prize Committee this year are:


  • Ignacio M. Sánchez Prado. Washington University in St. Louis. Past President of ASAP. Chair of the Prize Committee.
  • Lauren Cramer. University of Toronto. ASAP Motherboard Member-At-Large.
  • Min Hyoung Song. Boston College.



  • Authors must be members of ASAP at the time of submission.
  • Current members of the ASAP Motherboard are not eligible.
  • The award is for scholarly work rather than creative production (creative writing, original artwork, etc.), though we understand that submissions may challenge these boundaries.
  • Jointly authored monographs will be considered. Textbooks, anthologies, collections by multiple authors, bound editions of journals, and books in an edition other than the first will not be considered.
  • Self-published work is not eligible for the award. All submissions must be peer-reviewed publications.
  • Books must be in English.
  • Publisher, third-party, and self-nominations are encouraged. There are no limits on the number of books that one publisher can submit.
  • Any issues not considered in this call will be resolved by the Prize Committee and the ASAP Motherboard. Decisions by the Prize Committee and the Motherboard are final.


Submission guidelines

Three copies of the nominated book must be mailed to the Chair of the Prize Committee. Email a website link to the book and your contact information to; you will then receive the mailing address. The Chair will send the books to the other committee members.


Print copies are required. Authors with books that are natively electronic and offer no possibility of printed copy may contact the Chair to request consideration.


All books must be postmarked by the submission deadline of Monday, June 7, 2021. We strongly recommend the use of mailing services with tracking numbers to avoid any issues. Submitted books will not be returned even if they are deemed ineligible.


For more information about the prize, including a list of previous winners, visit