We are proud to announce the shortlist for the 2021 Book Prize. In alphabetical order by author, the shortlist is:


Jennifer Bajorek, Unfixed: Photography and Decolonial Imagination in West Africa (Duke 2020)


Sarah Chihaya, Merve Emre, Katherine Hill, and Jill Richards, The Ferrante Letters: An Experiment in Collective Criticism (Columbia 2020)


Shane Denson, Discorrelated Images (Duke 2020)


Fernando Domínguez Rubio, Still Life: Ecologies of the Modern Imagination at the Art Museum (Chicago 2020)


Matthew Hart, Extraterritorial: A Political Geography of Contemporary Fiction (Columbia 2020)


Jessica Hurley, Infrastructures of Apocalypse: American Literature and the Nuclear Complex (Minnesota 2020)


Sianne Ngai, Theory of the Gimmick: Aesthetic Judgment and Capitalist Form (Harvard 2020)


Samantha Pinto, Infamous Bodies: Early Black Women’s Celebrity and the Afterlives of Civil Rights (Duke 2020)


The winner of the 2021 Book Prize will be announced at ASAP/12, our annual conference, which will be held virtually on this platform October 27-30, 2021. Register now, if you haven’t already, to receive information on the conference and the prize reception.


The committee for the 2021 Book Prize was: Ignacio Sánchez Prado (Chair, Professor, Spanish, Latin American Studies, & Film and Media Studies, Washington University in St. Louis), Lauren M. Cramer (Assistant Professor, Cinema Studies, University of Toronto), and Min Hyoung Song (Professor, English, Boston College).