ASAP is committed to exploring the richness and diversity of the international contemporary arts as well as the critical methodologies used to elucidate them.

ASAP welcomes all forms of innovative or established scholarship that have as their primary purpose the advancement of learning about the contemporary arts. Predicated on the reality that the contemporary arts operate globally through the interaction of persons, cultures, systems of distribution, and translations of values, but also strongly supporting local articulations that may contest such circulation, it encourages groundbreaking scholarship but also fellowship and scholarly interaction among its constituents. We are opposed to any discriminatory practice against persons or ideas that undermines human flourishing and the free creation and dissemination of ideas; the association does not endorse any one critical methodology, political orientation toward the arts, or aesthetic criterion of evaluation.



Yogita Goyal, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)


Ignacio Sánchez Prado, Washington University in St. Louis

2nd Vice-President:

Tatiana Flores, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Past President:

Joseph Jeon, University of California, Irvine


Sheri-Marie Harrison, University of Missouri

Elise Archias, University of Illinois, Chicago


Gloria Fisk, Queens College, CUNY (assumed office fall 2015)


Kinohi Nishikawa, Princeton University (assumed office spring 2019)


Angela Naimou, Clemson University (assumed office fall 2016)

Journal Editor:

Jonathan P. Eburne, The Pennsylvania State University

Interface Committee Chairs:

  • Conference Program Committee

    • Lee Konstantinou, University of Maryland, College Park

  • Prizes

    • Joseph Jeon, Pomona College

  • International & Multidisciplinary

    • Melissa Lee, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (appointed fall 2009)

ASAP strives to represent diverse views about art and its contexts. Views expressed individually by the members of the advisory board and executive committee do not express the views or positions of the Association, which can be found in our mission statement.  Advisory Board members serve a term of five years.

  • Mieke Bal, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences Professor, University of Amsterdam (2014-19)

  • Jill Bennett, Associate Dean Research; Director, National Institute for Experimental Arts, NIEA, Dean’s Unit, Centre for Contemporary Art and Politics, UNSW Australia (2014-19)

  • Maaike Bleeker, Professor and the Chair of Theatre Studies, Ultrecht University (2014-19)

  • Anne Bogart, Professor, Head of Directing Concentration, Artistic Director of SITI Company, Columbia University (2014-19)

  • Wendy Hui Kyong Chun,  Professor and Chair of Modern Culture and Media, Brown University

  • Jill Dolan, Annan Professor in English, Professor of Theater in the Lewis Center for the Arts, Director of the Program in Gender and Sexuality Studies, Princeton University (2014-19)

  • Johanna Drucker, Bernard and Martin Breslauer Professor of Bibliography, Department of Information Studies, UCLA (2014-19)

  • Laura Letinsky, Artist, Professor of Visual Art, University of Chicago (2014-19)

  • China Miéville, author, comic writer and academic

  • Paul D. Miller, aka DJ Spooky, Professor of Music Mediated Arts, European Graduate School (2010-15)

  • Sianne Ngai, Professor of English, Stanford University (2014-19)

  • Wang Ning, Professor of English and Comparative Literature and Director of the Center for Comparative Literature and Cultural Studies, Tsinghua University (2012-17)

  • Marjorie Perloff, Professor Emerita of English at Stanford University and Scholar-in-Residence, the University of Southern California (2012-17)

  • James P. Phelan, Humanities Distinguished Professor, Department of English, Ohio State University, and editor of NARRATIVE(2014-19)

  • Peggy Phelan, Ann O’Day Maples Professor in the Arts, Professor of Drama and of English, Stanford University

  • Yinka Shonibare, MBE, Visual Artist  (2014-19)

  • Terry Smith, Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Contemporary Art History and Theory, University of Pittsburgh (2012-17)

  • Ngugi wa Thiong’o, Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature and English, University of California, Irvine (2010-15)

  • Eyal Weizman, Professor of Spatial & Visual Cultures, Goldsmiths, London (2014-19)

Past Executive Committees