ASAP: The Association for the Study of the Arts of the Present invites nominations and self-nominations for its annual Book Prize, awarded to the scholarly book that has made the most significant contribution to the study of the arts of the present during the calendar year 2017.

Books are considered without regard to aesthetic position, political point of view, country of origin, publisher, or topic: any book that discusses the contemporary arts anywhere in the world may be considered for the prize.

The prize is given for a book published in the calendar year 2017 and submitted prior to the submission deadline of Friday, May 4, 2018. The winner will be announced at the annual meeting of the Association (ASAP/10 in New Orleans, Louisiana, October 17-20, 2018: and on all Association social media sites. The winner will receive a prize of $500.

To nominate a book: ***Please send three (3) copies of the nominated book*** to the following address:

Mark Goble, Past President
Dept. of English
UC Berkeley
322 Wheeler Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720

Competition Rules:

  • • The award is for scholarly rather than creative production (creative writing, original artwork, etc.), though we understand that the boundaries between these can be malleable.
  • • Jointly authored monographs will be considered, but textbooks, anthologies, and collections by multiple authors, including bound editions of special issues of journals, are not eligible.
  • • Critical media scholarship may be submitted in its publisher’s distribution format.
  • • Self-published work is not eligible for the award. All submissions must be reputably refereed publications.
  • • Books must be in English.
  • • Publisher, third party, and self-nominations are encouraged. There are no limits on the number of books that one publisher can submit.
  • • Authors need not be members of ASAP at the time of submission (but are strongly
  • encouraged to join or renew).
  • • Authors are encouraged to request their publishers to send 3 copies of their books to the book award committee for prize consideration (see address above)

For more information about the prize, including details about previous winners, please visit!awards-and-prizes/c2333

Please circulate this announcement widely, including on social media. And if you authored an eligible book, or know someone who did, please nominate it and ask the publisher to send three copies to the above address.

We look forward to receiving nominations and books, and to celebrating exciting new scholarship on the Arts of the Present.