We are proud to announce the shortlist for the 2019 Book Prize. In alphabetical order by author, the shortlist is:


Stephen Best, None Like Us: Blackness, Belonging, Aesthetic Life (Duke)


Tarek El-Ariss, Leaks, Hacks, and Scandals: Arab Culture in the Digital Age (Princeton)


Gayatri Gopinath, Unruly Visions: The Aesthetic Practices of Queer Diaspora (Duke)


Justin Jesty, Art and Engagement in Early Postwar Japan (Cornell)


David Parisi, Archaeologies of Touch: Interfacing with Haptics from Electricity to Computing (Minnesota)


Damon R. Young, Making Sex Public and Other Cinematic Fantasies (Duke)


The winner of the Book Prize will be announced during the membership luncheon at ASAP11 College Park. The luncheon is scheduled for Friday, October 11, noon to 1:30pm. All registered participants of ASAP11 are warmly invited to attend.


The committee for the 2019 Book Prize was: Joseph Jeon (chair, University of California, Irvine), Karen Benezra (Columbia University), and Rebecca Janzen (University of South Carolina).